What a Decent Day in Sports

Five years ago today was the second and last time I shed tears watching sports.

Why you ask? Because on Oct. 27, 2004, The Boston Red Sox won the World Series. I remember Keith Foulke getting Edgar Renteria to ground out. I remember Doug Mientkiewicz catching the ball and leaping into the air. I remember the fans in St. Louis chanting “Thank You Red Sox.” I remember calling my father after the shock set in. I’m sure most Sox fans remember calling their fathers at about the same time. I remember people driving through New Bedford honking their horns. I remember the long lines outside every bar in the city. I remember picturing in my head every Sox fan that I’ve ever met leaping into the air and hugging each other like I was doing.

But today is more than just the five-year anniversary of the Sox World Series title. It’s also the start of the 2009-2010 NBA season, which means another winter of Paul Pierce, Kevin Garnett and Ray Allen kicking ass at the new Boston Garden. The Green open in Cleveland tonight against LeBron James, Shaq and the Cavs at 7:30 p.m. (TNT). The addition of Rasheed Wallace and the evolution of Rajon Rondo make the Celtics a championship contender. My prediction: 61-21, Celts over the Cavs in 7 in the East finals before taking down the Lakers in 6 to win their 18th NBA Championship.

Let the games begin.

Leave a Reply

